Home News Two honored with Leadership Awards from Ohio State Highway Patrol

Two honored with Leadership Awards from Ohio State Highway Patrol


Trish Bennett, Editor

CIRCLEVILLE – Members of the Circleville Post of the Ohio State Highway Patrol earned two out of four district honors in the 2016 Leadership Awards announced Feb. 10 in Columbus.

Trooper Jacob Landis was honored as District Trooper of the Year for the Columbus District. Teresa Elswick, Administrative Professional I, earned District Employee Recognition.

Landis, a Teays Valley graduate and Ashville resident, has served at the Circleville Post since his graduation from the 153rd Patrol Academy class in 2013.

“Trooper Landis is a big asset to the Circleville Post and has great passion to make Pickaway County a safer place to travel through and live in,” said Lt. Steven Herron, Circleville Post Commander. “He continues to be excited to give back to the county he grew up in and continues to live in.”

Herron said the Circleville Post is full of outstanding individuals, and the fact Landis was selected by his peers was an honor to him.

“We were excited to see Trooper Landis move on to be selected District 6 Trooper of the Year,” Herron said.

Landis has previously earned the Criminal Patrol Award during the second quarter of 2016 and the Star Level Health and Physical Fitness Award from the Ohio State Highway Patrol.

Herron also praised Elswick for her dedication and commitment to the Circleville Post.

“Teresa is a valuable employee to have in the post as she serves to handle the important administrative work that goes on in the day-to-day process,” Herron said. “She has worked hard to be a huge help with all post personnel, and I was excited to see her honored with this award.”

Two additional district award winners were announced at the ceremony in Columbus. They were Dispatcher Jeramey C. Knowlton of the Lancaster Dispatch Center for District Dispatcher of the Year; and Trooper Timothy Williamson, Columbus Criminal Patrol, for District Trooper Recognition.

The Leadership Awards ceremony recognizes dozens of state and district award winners for contributions to the division and the state of Ohio.

This article originally appeared on The Pickaway News Journal