Home News Adena Health Awards $120,000 in Scholarships to Class of 2024

Adena Health Awards $120,000 in Scholarships to Class of 2024


Chillicothe, OH (May 24, 2024) – Adena Health Foundation has given a significant boost to the academic endeavors of two dozen high school students across its service region by awarding $5,000 scholarships to each graduating senior. The recipients were recognized at a special ceremony held at the Carlisle Building in downtown Chillicothe.

The scholarships, part of the Adena Health Foundation’s Hope for our Future initiative, were bestowed upon students who have demonstrated high academic performance and expressed an interest in pursuing careers related to healthcare. This encompasses both clinical and non-clinical roles within the profession.

The 24 scholarship recipients, along with their respective schools and intended fields of study, are as follows:

  • Ashley Ater, Unioto High School, Nursing
  • Braiden Bay, Vinton County High School, Business Management
  • Sadie Bear, Piketon High School, Nursing
  • Mackenzie Cory, Miami Trace High School, Exercise Science
  • Faith Donley, Fairfield High School, Imaging/Radiology
  • Kyley Duncan, Jackson High School, Nutrition Science
  • Keegan Fisk, Unioto High School, Medicine
  • Haylee Havens, McClain High School, Imaging/Radiology
  • Kathryn Henning, Zane Trace High School, Medicine
  • Olivia Hilton, Valley High School, Speech Language Pathology
  • Charles Lewis, Unioto High School, Medicine
  • Lucy Lloyd, Chillicothe High School, Nursing
  • Lyric Malone, Jackson High School, Marketing/Business
  • Abigail Marshall, Unioto High School, Marketing
  • Nicholas Monroe, Waverly High School, Medicine
  • Macilyn Montgomery, Vinton County High School, Nursing
  • Kamryn Muncy, Jackson High School, Nursing
  • Abigail Park, Unioto High School, Nursing
  • Jacinta Pettit, Miami Trace High School, Nursing
  • Kamden Robinson, Jackson High School, Accounting
  • Maycee Smith, Unioto High School, Nursing
  • Lucas Sprague, Chillicothe High School, Medicine
  • Scarlett Studebaker, Hillsboro High School, Speech Language Pathology
  • Avery Teeters, Fairfield High School, Medicine

The scholarship program is made possible through fundraising initiatives led by the Adena Health Foundation and Adena Volunteer Advisory Council, as well as the generous contributions from Adena staff and community members to various scholarship funds under the Dr. Jack Berno Hope for our Future initiative.

Robin Berno, Director of Adena Health Foundation, emphasized the importance of nurturing local talent and encouraging future healthcare professionals to pursue their education and careers within the region. The initiative aims to retain skilled individuals within Adena’s service area, ensuring the continued growth and excellence of healthcare services.

To qualify for consideration, graduating seniors had to meet specific academic criteria, submit an essay, provide transcripts and college acceptance letters, furnish two letters of recommendation, and demonstrate an intention to pursue healthcare-related education. A scholarship committee meticulously reviewed the applications to select the recipients.