Home News Governor DeWine Authorizes Use of State Disaster Relief Program

Governor DeWine Authorizes Use of State Disaster Relief Program

Vivien McClain Photography

(COLUMBUS, Ohio)— Ohio Governor Mike DeWine today authorized the use of the State Disaster Relief Program (SDRP) to help communities impacted by several severe weather incidents between April and July of this year.

The SDRP is a reimbursement program that can be used in instances where storm damage amounts do not meet the threshold for federal assistance. The program is intended to provide supplemental state assistance to local governments and eligible non-profit organizations for costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and permanent work.

Areas impacted by flooding, flash flooding, and/or severe storms on the following dates may qualify for assistance:

  • April 25-26: Mercer County
  • May 16-17: Logan County
  • June 16-21: Belmont, Carroll, Jefferson, and Logan counties
  • July 7: Belmont County
  • July 20-22: Trumbull and Belmont counties

The SDRP is authorized for counties whose damages meet a countywide per capital indicator. Governor DeWine’s authorization allowing the use of the fund allows the Ohio Emergency Management Agency to request the funding from the Ohio Controlling Board.

Vivien McClain Photography